Dave Leads 2022 GRM Rated Awards Nominations: Full List

UPDATE: The Rated Awards will return as a live event on Saturday Oct. 22 at Magazine London and will be broadcast on E4 on Tuesday Oct. 25 at 10 p.m. Big Zuu and Julie Adenuga are slated to host the show. ArrDee, Blade Brown, Clavish, Dreya Mac, Ivorian Doll, Knucks, K-Trap, Ms Banks and SL are set to perform.

Dave is the leading contender for the 2022 GRM Rated Awards, which focuses on the U.K. rap and grime scene. The rapper received six nominations, including two each for both track of the year and video of the year.

Dave’s “Clash” (featuring Stormzy) is nominated in both categories. Dave’s other track of the year nominee is “Starlight,” which topped the Official U.K. Singles Chart for four weeks in March and April.  His other video of the year nominee is “Verdansk.”

Dave’s second studio album, We’re All Alone in This Together, is up for album of the year. The album topped the Official U.K. Albums Chart for two weeks in August 2021.

Other artists with multiple nominations include Aitch, ArrDee, Cleo Sol, K-Trap, Knucks, Little Simz, M Huncho, and Tion Wayne.

Like Dave, Aitch and K-Trap are competing with themselves in various categories. Aitch has two nominations for video of the year: “1989” and “Learning Curve.” K-Trap has two nods for mixtape of the year: “Trapo” and “Joints” (a collab with Blade Brown).

GRM Daily announced the nominations Thursday (Sept. 1). There are 10 categories, with 10 nominees in each category except for album of the year, where there are just eight nominees. This is the opposite of the Grammys’ approach, where there are five nominees in most categories, but 10 in each of the so-called “Big Four” categories – album, record and song of the year plus best new artist.

GRM Daily also announced that the show will return to a live format this year. The show will be held in central London. This year’s GRM Daily Rated Awards will be broadcast on E4 for the first time. 

Presenters will include Adeola Patronne, Beta Squad, Mariam Musa, Nella Rose, Snoochie Shy and Zeze Millz. Nella Rose and America Foster will be backstage capturing gossip and reactions for Channel 4’s digital channels.

GRM founder Post says, “I’m proud to be returning with our seventh Rated Awards and bringing an even more incredible show to screens this year.”

The nominations recognize achievements between June 1, 2021, and June 1, 2022. Voting is open now and will close Sept. 21. Fans can cast their votes at grmdaily.com/ratedawards.

The Rated Awards were founded by GRM Daily, which has chronicled the U.K. rap and grime scene for more than a decade. With 5 million subscribers and an online reach of more than 9 million, GRM claims to be the most viewed British music platform in the U.K.

Follow @GRMDAILY and @ratedawards on socials to keep up with #RatedAwards

Here’s the full list of nominations.

Album of the year

Cleo Sol – Mother
Dave – We’re All Alone in This Together
Fredo – Independence Day
Kojey Radical – Reason to Smile
Little Simz – Sometimes I Might Be Introvert
M Huncho – Chasing Euphoria
Tion Wayne – Green With Envy

Track of the year

Aitch – “Baby” (feat. Ashanti)
ArrDee – “Flowers (Say My Name)”
Benzz – “Je M’appelle”
Central Cee – “Obsessed With You”
D-Block Europe – “Overseas” (feat. Central Cee)
Dave – “Starlight”
Dave – “Clash” (feat. Stormzy)
Potter Payper – “Gangsteritus”
Russ Millions – “Reggae & Calypso” (feat. Buni & YV)
SwitchOTR – “Coming for You” (feat. A1 x J1)

Video of the year

Aitch – “1989”
Aitch – “Learning Curve”
CASisDEAD – “Boys Will Be Boys”
Dave – “Verdansk”
Dave – “Clash” (feat. Stormzy)
Knucks – “Alpha House” / “Hide & Seek”
Little Simz – “Point and Kill” (feat. Obongjayar)
M Huncho – “Warzone” (feat. Headie One)
Pa Salieu – “Glidin’” (feat. slowthai)
Stefflon Don & Ms Banks – “Dip”

Female artist of the year

Cleo Sol
Dreya Mac
Ivorian Doll
Little Simz
Miraa May
Ms Banks
Stefflon Don

Male artist of the year

Central Cee
D-Block Europe
Digga D
M Huncho
Potter Payper
Russ Millions
Tion Wayne

Breakthrough of the year

A1 x J1
Dreya Mac

Mixtape of the year

ArrDee – Pier Pressure
Central Cee – 23
D-Block Europe – Home Alone 2
Digga D – Noughty by Nature
K-Trap – Trapo
K-Trap & Blade Brown – Joints
M1llionz – Provisional License
Potter Payper – Thanks for Waiting
Unknown T – Adolescence
Youngs Teflon – All Eyes on Me Against the World

Personality of the year

Big Zuu
Harry Pinero
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Nella Rose
Specs Gonzalez
Yung Filly
Zeze Millz

Producer of the year

LiTek & WhyJay
Quincy Tellem
Nathaniel London
Young Chencs

Radio DJ of the year

Charlie Sloth
DJ Target
Henrie Kwushue
Kenny Allstar
Manny Norte
Rob Bruce
Sir Spyro
Snoochie Shy
Tiffany Calver
Yinka & Shayna Marie

Paul Grein