Toro y Moi announces new album ‘Hole Erth’, shares thumping new single ‘Tuesday’

Toro y Moi performs live

Californian experimentalist Toro y Moi has announced a new album, ‘Hole Erth’ – find out more below.

Last night (June 12), the musician – also known as Chaz Bear – took to social media to announce the album, which is due for release on September 6 via Dead Oceans. Chaz also shared a new single, ‘Tuesday’, to accompany the album announcement.

Watch the rock-tinged music video for ‘Tuesday’ below.

Per the Dead Oceans website, ‘Hole Erth’ “synthesizes anthemic pop-punk and autotuned, melancholic rap into a body of work that is both very much of the now, but also a reflection of long-running threads in Toro y Moi mastermind Chaz Bear’s musical history.”

Toro y Moi said of the upcoming album via a statement: “I hope you enjoy this suburban anthem, growing up, the often-controversial-line between mainstream and underground artists was so defined but now that line has become so blurred I can’t even tell what I like anymore… sometimes.”

The album is available for pre-save on Apple Music, which has revealed the tracklist. The album will feature Death Cab For Cutie and The Postal Service’s Ben Gibbard, Brockhampton‘s Kevin Abstract, Glaive, Don Toliver, Porches and more.

The tracklist for ‘Hole Erth’ is:

  1. ‘Walking in the Rain’
  2. ‘CD-R’
  3. ‘HOV’
  4. ‘Tuesday’
  5. ‘Hollywood’ ft. Benjamin Gibbard
  6. ‘Reseda’ ft. Duckwrth and Elijah Kessler
  7. ‘Babydaddy’
  8. ‘Madonna’ ft. Don Toliver
  9. ‘Undercurrent’ ft. Don Toliver and Porches
  10. ‘Off Road’
  11. ‘Smoke’ ft. Kenny Mason
  12. ‘Heaven’ ft. Kevin Abstract and Lev
  13. ‘Starlink’ ft. Glaive

In a four-star review of 2022’s ‘Mahal’, Dhruva Balram wrote for NME: “This project is sure to surprise fans with its unique sensibility, further showcasing how difficult it is to constrict the artist into any specific genre. Chaz borrows multiple elements to create something wholly unique, skating through sounds to create a genre pastiche to suit every taste.”

The post Toro y Moi announces new album ‘Hole Erth’, shares thumping new single ‘Tuesday’ appeared first on NME.