Taylor Swift reveals all song titles on new album ‘Midnights’

Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift has revealed the entire tracklist of her upcoming album ‘Midnights’ – see it below.

The singer-songwriter shared song titles from the record one by one via her TikTok series ‘Midnights Mayhem With Me’, where she randomly picked out tracks to reveal by spinning a cage of balls and picking one out.

Today, Swift concluded the TikTok series by sharing five song titles in videos posted hourly. The final batch of song titles revealed were album opener ‘Lavender Haze’, track five ‘You’re On Your Own, Kid’, track 10 ‘Labyrinth’, track 12 ‘Sweet Nothings’ and – last but not least – track four ‘Snow On The Beach’ featuring Lana Del Rey. Watch her final Tiktok in the series and watch the rest on her account here.


Our LAST EPISODE! The season finale of Midnights Mayhem with Me, with QUITE the twist of an ending… #TSmidnighTS #SwiftTok #MidnightsMayhemWithMe

♬ Midnight Mayhem episode 13 – Taylor Swift

‘Midnights’ is scheduled for release on October 21. Swift announced the album in August while accepting Video of the Year at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards ceremony, outlining the record with a message to fans shortly afterwards.

“This is a collection of music written in the middle of the night, a journey through terrors and sweet dreams,” Swift wrote at the time. “The floors we pace and the demons we face. For all of us who have tossed and turned and decided to keep the lanterns lit and go searching – hoping that just maybe, when the clock strikes twelve… we’ll meet ourselves.”

Swift has shared more about the song ‘Lavender Haze’, titled after a phrase used in the 1950s to describe being in love that she heard while watching the show Mad Men. “If you were in the lavender haze, then that meant that you were in that all-encompassing love glow, and I thought that was really beautiful,” she explained in an Instagram video.

“I think a lot of people have to deal with this now, not just like ‘public figures,’ because we live in the era of social media,” she added. “And if the world finds out that you’re in love with somebody, they’re gonna weigh in on it.”

Swift went on to explain that the song is inspired by the public fascination with her relationship with her boyfriend Joe Alwyn. “Like my relationship for six years, we’ve had to dodge weird rumors, tabloid stuff, and we just ignore it,” she said. “And so this song is sort of about the act of ignoring that stuff to protect the real stuff.”

Swift also recently said that the song ‘Anti-Hero’ on the new record is one of her favourite songs she’s ever written. “I really don’t think I’ve delved this far into my insecurities in this detail before,” she said in a video.

Another notable song on the record is ‘Karma’ – which is the title fans speculated she had given to an unreleased album she recorded and shelved in 2016, and some believed that she would release this year.

Swift’s frequent collaborator Jack Antonoff worked on the record, which is her 10th. The singer-songwriter will release the album through four distinctly covered vinyl pressings including the ‘Jade Green’, ‘Blood Moon’ and ‘Mahogany’ editions as well as a ‘Lavender’ version of the album. The back covers for the different vinyl versions will come together to make a clockface.

Swift’s most recent albums of new material arrived in 2020, with ‘Folklore’ and ‘Evermore’. Last year, she released the first two of her re-recorded albums, ‘Fearless (Taylor’s Version)’ and ‘Red (Taylor’s Version)’.

Scooter Braun recently gave an interview in which he revealed his “regret” over how he handled the sale of Swift’s master recordings following his company’s acquisition of Swift’s old label Big Machine in 2019. “I learned an important lesson from that. I think a lot of things got lost in translation. I think that when you have a conflict with someone, it’s very hard to resolve it if you’re not willing to have a conversation,” he said on the NPR show The Limits With Jay Williams.

The tracklist of Taylor Swift’s album ‘Midnights’ is:

  1. ‘Lavender Haze’
  2. ‘Maroon’
  3. ‘Anti-Hero’
  4. ‘Snow On The Beach’ featuring Lana Del Rey
  5. ‘You’re On Your Own, Kid’
  6. ‘Midnight Rain’
  7. ‘Question…?
  8. ‘Vigilante Shit’
  9. ‘Bejeweled’
  10. ‘Labyrinth’
  11. ‘Karma’
  12. ‘Sweet Nothing’
  13. ‘Mastermind’

The post Taylor Swift reveals all song titles on new album ‘Midnights’ appeared first on NME.