7 Essential Tracks on Rauw Alejandro’s ‘Saturno’ Album: Editor’s Picks

In July, Rauw Alejandro wiped his Instagram account and left one short clip featuring him, his go-to producers Caleb Calloway, Mr. NaisGai, Keno, and his manager Eric Duars. “Take care. I love you. Thanks for the love always. See you soon,” he captioned it.

Suddenly, Rauw went missing from social media only to appear a month later in yet another clip surrounded by aliens in a studio. “Do not believe everything you see and everything you hear on the internet, except that I am in Saturn making the most amazing album of the year and the other year and the other and the other,” he expressed

Almost three months later, the Puerto Rican artist born Raúl Alejandro Ocasio Ruiz unleashes his new studio album Saturno, home to 18 tracks including the previously-released “Lokera,” “Punto 40,” “Dime Quien????,” and focus single “Lejos Del Cielo,” which all set the tone for his new galactical era. 

Rauw Alejandro, "Saturno"
Rauw Alejandro, “Saturno”

The ever-chameleonic singer steps away from his signature trap and perreo, and continues honing his art with a more experimental sound. Think old-school hip-hop, 80’s and 90’s freestyle, and even punk rock laced with otherworldly, innovative rhythms. 

And in true Rauw fashion, he couldn’t escape to Outerspace without edgy reggaeton songs and some of his best collaborators, including veterans Arcangel and DJ Playero. 

Saturno (Duars Entertainment/Sony Music Latin) marks Rauw’s third studio album following Afrodisiaco (2020) and Vice Versa (2021), which spent two weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Top Latin Albums chart.  

Below, Billboard editors recommend seven essential tracks on the new set.

Jessica Roiz